Faces Around SLLIS: Meet Sara Asmus

No matter what SLLIS school you spend your time near, Sara Asmus is sure to be around! As the founding director of our Mosaic Before/After Care Program, Sarah oversees our Mosaic team across all SLLIS schools.

  • Who are you and How did you get to SLLIS?

I’ve been working with children and in education as long as I can remember and I’ve always been fascinated by travel and languages. I studied Political Science and International Relations in college and was always busy studying abroad or planning my next big trip. Through college I worked for the YMCA running multiple after school and summer camp programs.When I first heard about SLLIS, I was in the middle of my teaching internship with SLPS, teaching high school Social Studies. I loved being a teacher and working with students and watching them grow and explore everyday. So when I saw that SLLIS was opening its’ own before/after care program right as my teaching practicum was coming to an end, I  just knew I had to go for it.

  • What do you do when you’re not at work?

I keep myself pretty busy outside of work. I coach a select volleyball team for the Aces Volleyball Club and I’m working on my Masters in Gifted Education at Lindenwood University. The rest of my free time is dedicated to hanging out with my fiance, reading a book or wedding planning.

  • Tell us about your favorite vacation.

That’s a hard one, I’ve been on lots of trips throughout Europe, Central and South America but I have to say my favorite vacation was to Costa Rica in the summer of 2013. Between the welcoming culture of the people, the fantastic scenery and all the fun outdoor sports I got to partake in (ziplining, kayaking, whitewater rafting), it really was the most amazing place. I also got engaged on that trip, so it has some extra special memories for me 🙂

  • Any advice for prospective parents?

Take advantage of our awesome After School enrichment Programs. It’s a great way for students to make friends with similar interests and grow as inquirers, by exploring something that is of a specific interest to them. There’s so many choices across the three campuses, there is literally something for everyone; science, creative writing, Theater Club, karate, dance. One of the best parts of my job is getting to see the children explore and grow through these extracurricular activities at SLLIS. I think it’s one of our “best kept secrets”

Leave a Reply

