Faces Around SLLIS – Meet Kim Hinton

Ms. Kim Hinton joined the SLLIS community this year as our Receptionist at the Marine Campus.  You will find her friendly face supporting visitors to The Chinese School & The International School.

Any advice for prospective parents?

I have adult children who grew up in the St. Louis Public School System. As much as I wanted to home school them, I was unable to do so because of divorce and single parenting. They were able to excel in their primary studies but were not fully prepared for college enrollment. The St. Louis Language Immersion Schools’ vision and mission inspired me to research further. The language immersion schools would have been the ultimate opportunity for my children to learn in a culturally diverse setting. Without a doubt, my grandchildren will become a part of the SLLIS family. I feel assured that they will be better prepared to compete in today’s society.

What drives you to work at a school/serve children?

Out of all of the positions that I have held, I am most proud of being a mother/homemaker. Now that my children are adults, I would just like to finish my career in a position of serving children and their parents.

If you could have dinner with 5 people (dead or alive) who would they be?

In no particular order:

1) Maya Angelou

2) Dr. Frances Cress Welsing

3) Barack and Michelle Obama

4) Nelson Mandela

5) Donny Hathaway

Describe your favorite meal.

I love soul food the way my mother made it. My ideal meal would be:

  • Baked chicken
  • Mixed greens with smoked turkey, tomatoes and onions
  • Baked sweet potato
  • Baked macaroni and cheese
  • Pimento cornbread
  • Iced Tea

And of course, all shared with my friends and family!

Leave a Reply

