Q & A with Shaw Teo, Assistant Head of The Chinese School

Why do you work in education?

After graduation, I worked on plant genetic cloning research in the university. Fieldwork included site visits to a Hi-Tech Aquaculture Farm. My frequent falls, injuries incurred and x-rays prompted me to consider teaching instead of research. That was how I joined the teaching force and that was also one of the best decisions of my life. My love and passion for teaching developed over the years as I worked with children. They have taught me life values as much as I’ve imparted to them knowledge, skills and the love for learning. I’ve often shared with family and friends that teaching is the eye to the many strata of society, families and the human heart.

What do you do when you aren’t at work?

Working out at Lifetime Fitness, brisk walking on the school track, reading a good book and eating with friends.

If you could have dinner with 5 people (dead or alive) who would it be and why?

Jane Austen the English novelist. Love to chat with her about her romantic fiction, and what she really thought about Mr Darcy!

Chuck Colson, author of one of my very favorite books “The Good Life”, and founder of the Prison Fellowship in 1976. Colson worked relentlessly to promote prisoner rehabilitation and reform of the prison system in the United States. There is much to learn from him.

The elegant Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis.

Pierre-Auguste Renoir the French impressionist, famed for his charming paintings of women. I just might be able to get a picture of myself!

Li Ka-Shing, the Hong Kong tycoon and philanthropist, a man deeply engaged and passionate about charity work.

Tell us about your favorite vacation

A road trip in a huge RV with my family, quite like a National Geographic adventure.  We braved a wild life trail with potential risk of meeting bears along the way, just to enjoy watching salmon jump upstream to spawn, and bears catching fish. The mere sight was a childhood dream come true! We also visited the Iditarod sled dogs, whales, the ice avalanche and many wonders of Alaska.

Leave a Reply

